Fan Voting Open for International Tennis Hall of Fame Class Of 2021

The polls are now open in the International Tennis Hall of Fame 2021 Fan Vote presented by BNP Paribas.

Two former singles World No. 1s Lleyton Hewitt and Juan Carlos Ferrero, former doubles No. 1 Jonas Bjorkman, two-time Roland Garros champion Sergi Bruguera and WTA doubles great Lisa Raymond have been nominated for 2021 induction.

Hewitt, who won the 2001 US Open and 2002 Wimbledon crowns, said: “I’m incredibly honoured and grateful to receive this nomination. I had so many great Australians to look up to while I was coming up in the sport. To know that my career is up for consideration to be recognized alongside the likes of Hall of Famers Tony Roche, John Newcombe, Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Ken Rosewall, and so many other greats who I admired is just an amazing honour.

“I’m also excited to be part of the Hall of Fame’s Fan Voting program. The fans played such a massive role in my careers in terms of energy and support, and its nice to be able to go through this important moment in my career with them as well. I hope to see many fans, of both mine and the other great candidates, getting involved in the vote.”

Fans can voice their opinions over who deserves Hall of Fame induction until 25 October at

The International Tennis Hall of Fame is one of just two sports halls of fame where fans’ votes can have a direct impact on a candidate’s induction, as the top-three vote getters in the Fan Vote will receive bonus percentage points on their Official Voting Group result. The candidate with the highest result in the Fan Vote will receive three additional percentage points, while second and third place will receive two and one additional percentage points, respectively.

The ballot will go before the Official Voting Group, comprised of tennis journalists, historians, and Hall of Famers. To be elected into the Hall of Fame, a candidate must receive an affirmative vote in 75 per cent or higher of ballots submitted from the Official Voting Group or a combined total of 75 per cent or higher from their Voting Group result and any bonus percentage points earned in the Fan Vote.

The results of the ITHF Fan Vote will be announced at the conclusion of the voting period. The Class of 2021 Inductees will be announced in early 2021 with the Induction Ceremony slated to take place 17 July 2021.

Source of the article

Next Post

Doc Rivers: 'I Was Ready to Take a Break'

Doc Rivers has shown himself to be one of those people that leaves a good job and immediately ends up with another one. After coaching Tracy McGrady’s Orlando Magic at the turn of the millennium, Rivers bounced back from an in-season firing in 2003 to coach Paul Pierce’s Boston Celtics […]